In Tennessee, all children, ages three through 21, with certifiable disabilities may be eligible for special education services through the public school system.

Students determined to be eligible for special education services may have one or a combination of the following disabilities:

  • Developmentally Delayed
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Functionally Delayed
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Learning Disability
  • Intellectual Giftedness
  • Visual Impairment (Blind)
  • Hearing Impairment (Deaf)
  • Deaf-blindness
  • Other Health Impairment
  • Physical Impairment (Orthopedic)
  • Speech/Language Impairment
  • Autism
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Traumatic Brain Injury

To qualify for services, the disability must adversely affect the student's ability to perform in an educational setting.