Kathy Hall and Dr. Richard Manahan

Hall, Manahan honored by Tennessee School Board Association 

The Johnson City Board of Education had two members earn honors during the Tennessee School Board Association’s annual convention last week in Nashville, as Kathy Hall and Dr. Richard Manahan picked up awards. 

Hall, who serves as the Johnson City Board of Education Vice-Chair, was named the recipient of the 2017 Tennessee School Board Member of the Year / C. Hal Henard Distinguished Service Award. Manahan received recognition in the TSBA Scholars Circle, which recognizes those school board members across the state that have achieved Level V and attained 900 or more boardsmanship points in the TSBA Boardsmanship Award Program.

“The Johnson City School System and the Board of Education benefit greatly from the experience and knowledge that both Kathy Hall and Dr. Richard Manahan provide us,” Johnson City Board of Education Chairman Tim Belisle said. “They are each well-deserving of their honors, and I am proud to call them fellow board members.”

Hall was selected after judges combed through numerous recommendations from across the state and evaluated nominees service over the past 12 months. Also, nominees must have achieved Level IV in the boardmanship program. Along with the honor comes the responsibility of being Chairman of TSBA’s All Tennessee School Board.

“Mrs. Hall is a professional who brings enthusiasm and positive energy to the school system in whatever she does. She is encouraging and fun, while maintaining a level of respect that is conducive to a highly academic learning environment,” Johnson City Schools Superintendent Dr. Steve Barnett said. “She always seeks to find the best ways to serve students and is sincere while building a strong rapport with school system employees, parents, students and fellow board members.

“Dr. Manahan has served not only the school system with his time, but also the community in his decades worth of work at ETSU. We appreciate the knowledge that he brings to our board and we are honored that he has served our school system for so long.”

Hall was also named President-elect of the TSBA of the Board of Directors, which means she will spend the next year preparing to become president of the association. During next year’s conference, she will be sworn in as President and will serve her term from January 2019-December 2019.

Johnson City Board of Education member Tom Hager was selected to the All Tennessee School Board in 2005 and 1997.

© 2018 Johnson City Schools District. All Rights Reserved.
Website powered by JCS Technology Department.