Johnson City Board of Education

Johnson City Board of Education named Tennessee School Board of the Year by TSBA


The Johnson City Board of Education was named School Board of the Year by the Tennessee School Board Association, a reward they also received in 2011. The award honors a school board for excellent service.

The Johnson City Board of Education includes Chairman Tim Belisle, Vice-Chair Jonathan Kinnick, Secretary Kathy Hall, Superintendent Dr. Steve Barnett, Tom Hager, John Hunter and Dr. Richard Manahan.

“The Board is honored to be recognized as the Tennessee School Board of the Year,” Belisle said. “We all love Johnson City Schools and strive to provide the support necessary to help the system provide our students the best education possible.

“Although the truth is, this award was only made possible by the hard work and dedication of all the system’s administration, teachers and staff. What they do every day is remarkable, and it makes the Board look good.”

The TSBA noted numerous highlights as to why the board was awarded the honor, pointing out that Johnson City was one of 11 districts that earned a Level 5 in each subject area TVAAS composite and they ranked in the top ten statewide in eight of nine state-identified achievement categories for TVAAS. The TSBA also noted that the PreK and Kindergarten portfolio scores for the Johnson City ranked number one in the first core district. They also pointed to the board’s close relationship with the city commissioners to locally fund school resource officers in every school.

“Our board goes above and beyond to make sure that the students of Johnson City have access to a top-notch education,” Barnett said. “We are appreciative of their service and their cohesiveness as they work together for the betterment of Johnson City Schools.”

Hall received the Scholar Circle award, an award that Manahan received in 2017 and Hager received in 2007. The award recognizes school board members that have achieved Level V and attained 900 or more boardsmanship points in the TSBA Boardsmanship Award Program. Manahan was also named as one of two representatives on the All-Tennessee School Board, an honor that both Hager and Hall have received in the past.

Hall was also named President of the Tennessee School Board Association Board of Directors. Her extra duties will include additional meetings with legislators on a state and national level, meetings with school board leaders with other states, attending national conferences, presiding over TSBA meetings and the delegate assembly where we set our legislative agenda for the year. Her term runs from January 2019 to December 2019.

“The TSBA is a great organization. They are strong advocates for our students and our schools and continue develop innovative programs to benefit school systems,” Hall said. “It is my honor to serve as president and to be able to bring another East Tennessee voice to the table.”

© 2019 Johnson City Schools District. All Rights Reserved.
Website powered by JCS Technology Department.