Please click here to go to the Registration page to learn about the process to register A NEW STUDENT - including kindergarteners - for the 2023-2024 school year. Current students will be able to register in July, while new tuition students will register on June 6. For more information, visit this page.

    For parents filling out In-Zone Transfers, please use this link.

    For parents filling out the Pre-K application, please use this link.

Close alert
Open vision bar

Seven Toppers earn honor of being named National Merit Finalists

National Merit Finalists


Science Hill High School had seven students named as Finalists for the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship program. The program is designed to identify and honor the top high school students in the United States.

The Science Hill students are Arshaam Kordamiri (son of Maki and Burt Kordamiri), Caiawynn R. Lakey (daughter of Jill and Chad Lakey), Rachel J. Leerssen (daughter of Rebecca and Robert Leerssen), Jacob Y. Na (son of Sookhyun Kim and Taeyoung Na), Lara A. O'Neal (daughter of Ethel and Brian O’Neal), Logan A. Smith (son of Allison and Richard Smith) and Sinna Yang (daughter of Min Hui Huang and Ji Wang Yang).

“We are incredibly proud of our National Merit Finalists.  These students embody a dedication to excellence that we can all admire,” Science Hill Principal Josh Carter said. “I would like to thank these students for representing Science Hill so well, thank their parents for all of their support, and thank our incredible teaching staff for helping all of our students reach their full potential.” 

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and his/her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which information is provided regarding the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school/community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors/awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

Over 16,000 students qualified as Semifinalists, about 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to advance to the Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title. National Merit Scholarship winners for 2023 will be announced beginning in April and concluding in July.

For more information about Science Hill High School, visit ScienceHill.jcschools.org.

Back to School News       Print