Skip To Main Content


In Tennessee, all children, ages three through 21, with certifiable disabilities may be eligible for special education services through the public school system.  Students determined to be eligible for special education services may have one or a combination of the following disabilities:

Developmentally Delayed
Intellectual Disability
Functionally Delayed
Emotional Disturbance
Learning Disability
Intellectual Giftedness
Visual Impairment (Blind)
Hearing Impairment (Deaf)
Other Health Impairment
Physical Impairment (Orthopedic)
Speech/Language Impairment
Multiple Disabilities
Traumatic Brain Injury

To qualify for services, the disability must adversely affect the student's ability to perform in an educational setting.

Last Updated: September 21, 2022